You work hard for your paycheck, which is why the thought of your employer failing to hold up their end of the bargain can be a frustrating experience, to say the least. That said, if you believe you’ve been wrongfully denied the pay to which you are entitled, a seasoned Marquette wage & hour lawyer is here to help. Contact Berger Law today to learn more about what we can do for you.
Wage & Hour Lawyer | Fighting for Your Hard-Earned Pay
You and your family depend on the paycheck you receive on a regular basis. If you believe your right to fair pay has been violated by your employer, you should strongly consider taking legal action against them. Fortunately, you have come to the right place. You can have peace of mind when you turn to a skilled Marquette employment lawyer from Berger Law for guidance. We proudly represent clients in Marquette and throughout the Upper Peninsula.
What is Michigan Wage and Hour Law?
Michigan wage and hour law is based on federal regulations and state statutes that protect the wages and fringe benefits of Michigan workers. It covers a wide range of topics, including the following:
- Minimum wage: The minimum wage rate in Michigan is $10.10 per hour as of January 1, 2023. This applies to most employees, except for tipped employees, who must receive at least $3.84 per hour plus tips. Additionally, minors aged 16 and 17 are to receive 85% of the state’s minimum wage, which means that, as of 2023, the minimum wage for minors aged 16 and 17 is $8.59 per hour.
- Overtime pay: Nonexempt employees who work more than 40 hours in a week are entitled to overtime pay at a rate of one and a half times their regular rate. Exempt employees are those who meet certain criteria based on their job duties and salary, such as executive, administrative, professional, or outside sales employees.
- Payment of wages and fringe benefits: Employers must pay employees at least twice a month on regular paydays and provide them with an itemized statement of their wages and deductions. Additionally, employers are also required, under law, to pay employees for any agreed-upon fringe benefits, such as vacation pay or sick pay.
What to Do If Your Employer Violates Michigan Wage and Hour Law
If you believe that your employer has violated your rights under Michigan wage and hour law, you should strongly consider hiring a competent Marquette wage & hour lawyer who can help you file a complaint with the Wage and Hour Division of the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity.
The division will investigate your complaint and try to resolve it with your employer. If the division finds that your employer owes you back wages or penalties, it will issue an order for payment or take legal action against your employer. You and your attorney may also take legal action against your employer and sue them in civil court for unpaid wages, overtime pay, attorney fees, and court costs, among other things.
Importantly, you should note that you will have three years from the date of the violation to file a lawsuit under Michigan law. If you wait longer than three years, you will most likely permanently lose your right to sue. Berger Law is here to fight for you today.
Contact an Upper Peninsula Wage & Hour Lawyer Today
The bottom line is that any employee who believes they’ve been wrongfully denied their rightful pay deserves to have a legal advocate in their corner who truly cares about their rights and their future. Whether you’re being paid less than the minimum wage, aren’t being paid all the hours you worked, or you’ve had your employer misclassify you as an exempt employee to avoid paying you overtime, we are on your side. Here at Berger Law, we put our clients’ interests first, and by turning to us, you maximize your chances of attaining a favorable outcome in your case. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation with our dedicated Marquette employment law firm.