A conviction on assault charges can have long-lasting harmful consequences. Although you might think that pleading guilty is the best solution to make the legal matter go away as quickly as possible, that is often a mistake. You could feel the effect of a conviction many years into the future. In addition to jail time, a conviction could hurt your professional and social standing. If you are under investigation for a violent crime, you should reach out to an experienced Marquette assault lawyer. Our firm is here to help you navigate your case and protect your future.
What is the Legal Definition of Assault in Marquette?
Although criminal defendants often face charges of assault and battery together, they are two separate crimes under Michigan law.
An assault is a threat. It occurs when a defendant’s actions or words cause someone else to fear for their safety or wellbeing. Assaults frequently involve verbal threats of violence that a reasonable person would interpret as credible.
An example of an assault would be an individual threatening to shoot someone else. The threat would be plausible to a reasonable person if the defendant was holding a gun. Under those circumstances, it would look very likely that the defendant could carry out their threats because they had a gun, and nothing was stopping them.
A battery involves actual physical contact, in which one person intentionally touches another person violently or offensively. Even if the other person does not sustain any actual injuries, the person who touches them could face battery charges. A knowledgeable attorney in Marquette could help a defendant understand the charges they are facing and help them mount the most successful legal defense.
Different Types of Assault Charges
State law addresses several different types of assault. They vary in severity from misdemeanors to felonies.
Michigan courts generally treat simple assaults as misdemeanors. Defendants face a maximum of a 93-day jail term and a maximum fine of $500. The fines and jail terms could increase for repeat offenders.
Aggravated Assault Without a Weapon
Aggravated assault and battery generally cause a severe injury that requires urgent medical care and causes disfigurement or impairment. In this type of assault, the accused offender does not intend to cause such serious harm. An aggravated assault and battery without a weapon is a misdemeanor offense, and a conviction could bring up to a one-year jail term and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Felony Assault with a Weapon
If a defendant allegedly used a dangerous weapon to assault someone else without intending to inflict serious bodily harm or commit murder, they could face felonious assault charges. If convicted, they could face up to a four-year prison term and a $2,000 fine.
Assault with Intent to Maim
Assault with intent to maim involves occurs when a person intends to maim or disfigure another person. This crime is a felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison or a fine of up to $5,000.
Assault with Intent to Commit Another Felony
A person who assaults someone else in the course of committing another felony crime, such as burglary, could face a maximum of ten years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Assault with Intent to Commit Murder
If a prosecutor proves that a defendant intended to commit murder, they could face up to life in prison. A skilled local attorney could represent defendants facing several types of assault charges.
Retain an Assault Lawyer in Marquette Today
Assault charges are always serious. A criminal conviction could permanently alter your life. As such, it is critical to fight back as soon as you learn that you are under investigation.
A skilled Marquette assault lawyer could aggressively defend you with innovative strategies. Contact the experienced team at our firm today for legal help.