gavel in courtroom

What Are the Penalties for Cocaine Possession in Michigan?

Some of the most frequently seen crimes in Michigan are drug crimes. Even just drug possession carries the risk of heavy fines and possibly jail time. Cocaine, in particular, involves strict penalties across the United States. Please read this blog carefully, as it will discuss the legal consequences of a drug possession conviction. If you have been accused of cocaine possession or any other drug crime, you may very reasonably be concerned and anxious. Don’t face this charge alone; call a Marquette drug possession lawyer today.

What Does Michigan Law Say About Cocaine Possession?

Having any amount of cocaine at all in Michigan is a felony punished by a fine of up to 25,000 and four years in prison, as a minimum. You may also be required to comply with a substance abuse treatment program.

The Michigan Penal Code lists the following penalties for cocaine possession:

  • Less than 50 grams of cocaine, felony: Up to four years in prison, a fine of up to $25,000, or both
  • Between 50 and 450 grams: Up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $250,000, or both
  • Between 450 grams and one kilogram of cocaine, felony: up to 30 years in prison, a fine of up to $500,000, or both
  • More than one kilogram of cocaine, felony: Potentially life in prison, a fine of up to $1,000,000, or both

Notably, these are just standard sentences, and can be increased if the court finds aggravating factors. Having a prior criminal record or a particularly large amount of cocaine, among other concerns, may increase the penalties substantially.

Should you do more than simply possess cocaine, if you possess it intending to deliver, manufacture, or distribute cocaine, you’ll face greatly increased fines and prison time. While cocaine possession of less than 50 grams is usually limited to four years in prison, planning to do more than possess it means you may face up to 20 years in prison. Possessing cocaine near parks, schools, churches, and businesses can also earn you heavier consequences.

How Do I Fight Back Against a Cocaine Possession Charge?

There may be several factors in your favor if you have been charged with cocaine possession. You may bring up, for instance, that the state lacks sufficient evidence, that the state obtained evidence illegally through an illegal search or entrapment, or that the state violated your Miranda rights, among other possible defenses. Cocaine charges can’t be expunged in Michigan, so it is worth your time to fight your charge.

Website Designed & Managed by