Michigan sex crimes are offenses that are sexual by nature. Conviction of sex crimes in the Upper Peninsula carry serious consequences that extend beyond imprisonment. Registration with the Michigan Sex Offender Registry can affect your opportunities for the rest of your life. Your reputation and relationships with others could suffer tremendously.
If you’ve been accused of criminal sexual conduct, one of the following sex crimes, or even a Title IX discrimination, do not hesitate to retain an Upper Peninsula sex crime lawyer.
Rape is forced or nonconsensual sexual intercourse involving penetration. In Michigan, rape is not an individual charge. Rather, rape is charged as either first or third degree criminal sexual conduct.
First degree criminal sexual conduct involves the act of penetration as well as the victim being either under the age of 13, the assailant using a weapon, the assailant using force, or the assailant using their position of authority to coerce the crime. First degree criminal sexual conduct is punishable by up to life and a mandatory minimum of 25 years if the victim was under 13 years of age. First degree criminal sexual conduct also requires life registration as a sex offender.
Third degree criminal sexual conduct is often referred to as “statutory rape.” This means that if penetration was used on someone unable to consent, you could face up to 15 years of imprisonment. Even if the sex was consensual between teenagers, third degree criminal sexual conduct could be chargeable if the one party was under the age of 16.
Prostitution is exchange of currency for a sexual activity. Multiple charges fall under the category of prostitution.
Soliciting oneself as a prostitute or hiring a prostitute is a misdemeanor for first time and second time offenders. First time offenders face up to 93 days in jail, a fine up to $500 , or both. Second time offenders will see the maximum jail time jump to 1 year, the fine doubling to $1,000, or both. Third time offenders and beyond will face a felony with up to two years in prison, a fine up to $2,000, or both.
Pimping carries more serious penalties. Knowingly accepting money from a prostitute can result in charges up 20 years in prison. Running a prostitution house can result in 5 years in prison.
Indecent Exposure is the intentional exposure of genitals in public or to a person who does not desire to see the private parts. This is commonly referred to as flashing or streaking. Even getting caught skinny dipping in Lake Superior can result in indecent exposure charges.
Simple indecent exposure is when an individual knowingly exposes their private parts or genitals in public. This offense can be charged even if no one is around to see. Being naked when you thought you were alone is enough to be charged with simple indecent exposure. If the courts rule that there was a reasonable possibility of someone seeing your exposed parts, you could face up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.
Aggravated indecent exposure involves the fondling of private parts in a public area This includes the buttock and breasts. Upon conviction of aggravated indecent exposure, the individual could face up to two years in of imprisonment, a fine of up to $2,000, or both.
Being charged with any sex crime is quite serious. The ramifications include lengthy jail sentences, extreme fines, and potential registration as a sex offender.
Don’t let a sex crime destroy your life. Alex Berger practices exclusively on criminal defense sex crimes. He dedicates his entire practice to cases of rape, prostitution, indecent exposure, and other sex crimes. He and his team of professionals understand the severe consequences of sex crimes. We work with you to provide the most support. The sooner we can work with you, the greater your chances are at obtaining an ideal outcome.